mcgilh

I am a newcomer to PB, using it to construct a novel. I understand there are quite a few other writers (fiction, non-fiction, technical, playwright ???) using the software. If that is so, would any of you like to start a thread where we can share tips, problems, recommendations etc. relating to the the functionality of PB as a writer's tool? Of course, Everyone using PB must have discovered wonderful ways to use this software that could enhance a writing project, and I'd be grateful to learn from all of you.

Forgive me if there is a site somewhere already filling that void, and please forward any and all links
Thanks for your interest.

sammydix

I see that you asked this question like 2 weeks ago, but i just joined today (11.1.07) and saw it. I'm a writer which is precisely what i plan to use the Brain for. Here's what I've done so far for my novel template:

I began with the obvious Parents--ACTS I, II, & III. Each ACT has Chapter children, and each Chapter has Scene children (however many scenes are in a particular chapter). I also have Parents called Characters with personality children (hobbies, likes/dislikes, good/bad traits, etc.); one for each main character. Moving on, I have Jumps to Quick Notes, Ideas, Vocabulary, Odd Creatures, Weird Foliage, etc. The Brain lets me go crazy!!! With everything a mouse click away! MindJet 7 cost me a small fortune and i barely use it any more (too much scrolling and not the "compactness" of the Brain). I know PerBrain can't import from everything, but mindjet is pretty majorly popular and that would be a fantastic feature. Speaking of which, I also have Software thoughts for novels and short stories with too many 'already done' ideas to transfer to the Brain. I just Jump link to Mindjet, MyBase, Keynote, etc. Anyway, you have an idea of how i use the program and i hope i sparked some off for you. See ya.

By the way, to answer your question, yes, i would be interested in such a sub-forum.

Sam

Samuel L. Dixon