kbunders
Hi all,

I've been using Personalbrain for many years now. I haven't updated to version 7 yet. I'm in doubt.

A while ago I started using Evernote. First just to scan and store my incoming (snail)mail. Quickly after that, I started using it for my GTD practice (based on http://www.thesecretweapon.org/). My tags in Evernote are: #projects (GTD 10.000ft), $domains (GTD 20.000ft), :roles (GTD 20.000ft), +interests, and @contexts.

Soon I became aware I was in trouble. Now I was using not one trusted system anymore, but two! The biggest overlap between my EN and PB is due to my +interests tag. I'm now using EN apps like Clearly and Clip to Evernote in my Chrome browser to quickly add stuff of my interest (something I did in my brain before with lots of manual labour). On my iphone I use the Captio app to quickly add any thoughts into my Action pending notebook in EN via email.

Anyway, I'd like to go back to one trusted system. I see 3 possibilities:
1. something magical happens EN and PB team up and merge their functionalities
2. I quit PB (and hope for EN-like improvements), or
3. I quit EN (and hope for PB-like improvements)

Honestly I don't believe option 1 will ever happen, but it would be my dream scenario.

There are many things I like and dislike about both PB and EN. My biggest concerns about PB are the slow pace of software development (example: why does this feature 'Email a thought or a test into my Brain' take multiple years (!) to implement), and the closed character of thebrain developement (I would love to see a trunk of 3rd party mobile / desktop apps for thebrain, like Evernote has).

Maybe I should upgrade to version 7 and hope for the best (option 3 above). I don't know. I see Evernote is having a lot more momentum due to its fast and open development... 

Anyway, what do you all think about this? Any thoughts?

Cheers,

Koen

Windows 10 | Beta testing TheBrain 9.1.15.0
Spacenexus
Koen