ThatAdamGuy
Hi there,

I've been using Evernote, OneNote, and MyLifeOrganized, but have recently become intrigued by PersonalBrain. I started playing with it a couple of days ago, have been lurking in the forum here to learn tips and tricks, and so on.

My intention was to continue trialing the software (with a subset of my data) and if I found it to be more effective/powerful than my current software solution, to become a paying PersonalBrain user.

But all of this sort of came crashing down, and in an unexpected way. You see, I regularly use three computers: My desktop at work, my desktop at home, and (on my extensive travels), my laptop. I figured that -- as with pretty much *ALL* other software I've paid for in the past -- this would pose no problem at all. One person, one user, multiple computers, one license.

But nope, that won't work with PersonalBrain apparently. After finding the (somewhat buried) two-computer limit listed on the site, I wrote this company's customer service folks asking for a clarification. Sorry, two-computer limit was the response. I wrote one polite followup asking for a good-faith exception (heck, I'm not even married, so it really would be just me using this!), but... nope, no exception. But hey, I could use a USB stick as a workaround.

I don't intend to be mean but... really? Seriously? You want me to go back into the dark ages, away from DropBox and other much more elegant solutions, and inconvenience myself to get around your inflexible licensing solutions?

Sorry, but no. And with no disrespect intended, this is Customer Service FAIL. I can't promise that I would have become a customer (I had just started trialing the software after all), but with this policy, I can guarantee you that I won't become a customer.

So I have to ask: how many customers are you losing? How much piracy are you really stopping?