mrsandbags
I tried the Brain 9 iOS app for the first time today to add a few thoughts while I was away from my computer. Modulo sign-in & UI issues with the app that all seemed to go fine.

When I got back to my desktop I was a little surprised that the new thoughts didn't appear. When I checked it I realised that sync was not enabled.

Now, it definitely had been enabled. I would say at least as recently as last week and there is absolutely no way I would deliberately disable it. This suggests to me that it has become disabled somehow during an upgrade or recovery from an error.

I'm obviously a little disturbed that this can happen and that it can be so difficult to notice. I might have gone on ignorant that my changes were not being uploaded for quite a while if I hadn't used the iOS app.

Matt
MOWER/VALDEMARIN
Experts at creating value by sharpening purpose, stimulating thinking, sharing insight, and finding hidden opportunities for you
tel +44 797 707 6709  ·  skype: matt.mower ·   http://mwrvld.com/  ·  https://uk.linkedin.com/in/mattmower

TheBrain v9.0.245.0 | macOS 10.12.6 | MacBook Pro 13,1 (late 2016) 2.4Gz i7, 16GB RAM, Intel Iris 540 GPU


Quote
Harlan
Automatic sync can be disabled if you delete your preferences (if you restored from a backup of your brains folder but did not have your meta database for example). It can also be disabled by clicking the checkbox in the status window of course. It will not be disabled as part of an upgrade or error recovery.
Regards,
-Harlan
Quote
mrsandbags
Harlan wrote:
Automatic sync can be disabled if you delete your preferences (if you restored from a backup of your brains folder but did not have your meta database for example). It can also be disabled by clicking the checkbox in the status window of course. It will not be disabled as part of an upgrade or error recovery.


Hi Harlan.

I haven't done any kind of restore or touched the file-system on the brain. I didn't delete my preferences manually. And I didn't mess with the checkbox.

Yet it was turned off.

Matt
MOWER/VALDEMARIN
Experts at creating value by sharpening purpose, stimulating thinking, sharing insight, and finding hidden opportunities for you
tel +44 797 707 6709  ·  skype: matt.mower ·   http://mwrvld.com/  ·  https://uk.linkedin.com/in/mattmower

TheBrain v9.0.245.0 | macOS 10.12.6 | MacBook Pro 13,1 (late 2016) 2.4Gz i7, 16GB RAM, Intel Iris 540 GPU


Quote
Harlan
I am not aware of any other way the for auto sync to be disabled. It's possible there is a bug that causes this but I haven't heard any other reports of it so far.
Regards,
-Harlan
Quote
mrsandbags
Yes, understood, I just wanted to be clear that… to the best of my knowledge… none of the things you had suggested are the cause. I can't deny a possibility that I accidentally turned off sync manually, I'm just 99% sure that I didn't do that.

Let's see if it happens again or anyone else reports a similar issue.

Thanks.

Matt
MOWER/VALDEMARIN
Experts at creating value by sharpening purpose, stimulating thinking, sharing insight, and finding hidden opportunities for you
tel +44 797 707 6709  ·  skype: matt.mower ·   http://mwrvld.com/  ·  https://uk.linkedin.com/in/mattmower

TheBrain v9.0.245.0 | macOS 10.12.6 | MacBook Pro 13,1 (late 2016) 2.4Gz i7, 16GB RAM, Intel Iris 540 GPU


Quote
metta
FWIW, quite some time ago (with a much earlier version of TB9) I ran into the opposite issue:
> After an update, TB started syncing automatically, which surprised me, since I always have it turned off and sync manually.

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find where I reported this issue (here in the forum or in a support ticket), but I do remember Matt C. providing feedback on the issue.

Is there any chance Matt C. might remember what triggered the issue for me -- and/or that it might be related to the issue Matt M. has reported?
Quote
mcaton
Metta,

Some time ago we updated the application so that the auto sync would automatically turn on after the first sync/upload of a Brain.  This is the current default setting.  I'm wondering if you encountered this after installing a new build and/or creating a new Brain?

Matt M - I'm also not aware of any other issue that is deactivating the auto sync.  I too will keep an eye out for this behavior during regular use and future updates.

Thanks,
Matt
Quote
metta
@matt ~

The sync turned on spontaneously in an existing brain after updating to a new version of TB9.

However, this only happened once, and it was a long time ago, so I don't consider this a current issue.

I only mentioned this since I thought my history with this bug might (?) have some connection (direct or indirect) with Matt M.'s report of the sync being unexpectedly turned off.
Quote

Add a Website Forum to your website.

Newsletter Signup  Newsletter        Visit TheBrain Blog   Blog       Follow us on Twitter   Twitter       Like Us on Facebook   Facebook         Circle Us on Google+  Google         Watch Us on Youtube  YouTube       

TheBrain Mind Map & Mindmapping Software     Download TheBrain Mind Mapping Software