I hesitate to say this, but yes, it is still possible to select this type of location to store your Brain data. But more importantly, it is very possible and
that you will LOSE your access to your data. If the application is ever started without the path of the USB drive being present, or if access to the USB drive is lost while TheBrain is still running, your Brain data will no longer be accessible. This is why we stress as much as possible that USB storage with v9 is not supported or recommended.
Hi Matt, Thanks for this confirmation. This is very good news. I only access a brain room USB in an emergency. It's a backup and as such, it's read only. If I lose the data on USB, it doesn't matter. The idea is simply that if my main partition fails, I can access my backup partition from bootcamp, with my USB backup assigned with the same drive letter as my main data partition. It works fine with V8. If my presentation laptop is also out of order, I had the Brain on the USB so I can install on another laptop. I never do any changes to the brain on the USB, with V8 or V9. It's just an emergency backup if Murphy's law strikes during a presentation... So I only need the return of Presentation Mode to be able to switch to V9. Looking forward to it!
TB V10.0.23.0 running in a Windows 10 Pro x64 Build 1803 VM (Parallels 14) in Mac OS V10.14 (Mojave Public release). Host is a 2018 MBP 13" with 16Gb of RAM, 2TB SSD and i7 @ 2.7Ghz. Win VM has 8GB of RAM and 2 cores available, Mac Host has 8GB of RAM and 2 cores available as well.