RichardB
I've been running TB9 for about 3 months now. Yesterday I upgraded to 9.0.240 under W10. Two comments:

1. Today I lost my Notes pane and couldn't get it back. I got Report View instead and try as I might it wouldn't go away. There was no way (that I could find, including unchecking Report under View) that I could get Notes to display. I changed the active thought several times, no go. Then I opened another brain (new tab) and it worked fine, just as expected. Re-opened the problem brain. Still no Notes. As a final try before calling Support I closed the tab for the problem brain. Then re-opened that brain on a new tab. Worked fine first time! Trouble is that the above is all from memory as I don't have any detailed record of how I caused the problem or what I tried exactly after discovering that Notes had gone missing. Sorry I can't be more specific.

2. I find I use 'Instant Activate' (is it still called that?) a great deal. This may be untypical, I don't know. But on V9 (inc before 240 and unlike V8 and earlier) when one clicks into the Search box and types something, what one types may -- or may not -- replace any text left there from the previous invocation of Inst Activate. It seems to depend upon where exactly in the Search box the cursor lands. Thus sometimes the new text replaces the old; sometimes it gets inserted into the middle of the old text and nothing is found.

This sounds utterly trivial, but actually it's a much bigger annoyance to me than the 'lost Notes' problem described above as it happens and happens and happens. I've been using TB all day every day since about version 4 or so. None of the versions I've had before 9 did this. Then, whatever you typed into the search box replaced anything already there Every time. No problem. Since 9 this is no longer true.

I would respectfully submit that this is a UI usability problem that does TB no favours at all.