Beastro
Hi,

I am considering acquiring TheBrain for my physics studies and research. I have used other mindmaps in the past and always stumbled over the inability to input formulas and scientific writing. I used to write out text and formulas in Mathematica and then paste them as images in the mindmap, but it was cumbersome and the result is not satisfying.

Are people here using it for maths and physics? How do you get around those problems? I would like to see some working solution before purchasing.

Thank you and regards
Berthold/Spain
Win10/TB9
shatcher
Hi Berthold,

TheBrain 9 was designed with speed in mind. Your information is quickly accessible, and quickly editable. This focus means that things like the notes don't have tons of options for things like mathematical formulas. As a physics graduate myself, I understand the difficulty of trying to express a formula or concept without the ability to type certain characters or formulas. 

I used to take a picture and attach it to an email when discussing the work with classmates or my professors. This is the method I would recommend for TheBrain as well. You can paste screenshots of formulas directly into the notes, and can attach images or other files to a Thought. It might help as well to have links to concepts directly in your notes.

Ex: If you have a Thought with Maxwell's equations, but don't want to copy the entire set into another Thought's note. Right-click on Maxwell's Thought and Copy Local Thought URL. Paste this in the other Thought. You can then edit the name of that URL without destroying the link. Just click the icon that is at the right side of the blue text to be taken to the other Thought.

Cheers, Sean
metta
Following up on Sean's suggestion, I suspect you could also include a link to wherever the formula is located (either on your desktop or online) just in case the formula ever needs to be edited/updated/enhanced in the future.