wpfreeman
First, I understand that "it depends upon how you think", so please don't bother saying that. :-)

I'm pretty new to TB so I'm just looking for what some more seasoned users think on this ... what criteria do YOU use to decide a piece of info is really a Thought and what material is best entered as a Note ?

(I have watched the TB101 and TB202 videos a couple of times, and a few YouTubes already.)
lkane
Hello Ward,

Thanks for posting your question on the forums, it's a great question to consider before starting a new Brain. Like you said, it really does depend on how you think and what you are using TheBrain for. Personally, I like to think in an outline format (titles with subcategories that have bullet points) so I tend to make Thoughts short and bullet point details within notes. However, I have spoken with plenty of users who have preferred very long Thought names. They typically use TheBrain for projects involving research, writing and file management.

To get technical, I would suggest trying to stay on the shorter side of Thought names to ensure that the file path each thought creates does not get too long. The Notes section allows you to place a lot of information in there and I would take advantage of that. You can always make a long title in the Notes area.

best
shatcher
Ward,

In my own Brain, I tend to put everything in the Notes. After adding to it for awhile it can either get to be too much info in one place, or I realize that I need to break it up into separate ideas. At that point I create a child Thought, or multiple children Thoughts, and separate my notes into each as necessary.

If you later decide that something doesn't need its own Thought, you can easily copy paste the Notes from your Thought to its parent, and forget or delete the child Thought.

Cheers, Sean
wpfreeman