Go to top of the forum TheBrain Message Board RSS Feed
TheBrain Technologies Forum
Register New Posts

Author Comment

protein_function

Reply with quote  #31 
I use http://www.zotero.org (not Mendeley, not EndNote anymore). 
protein_function

Reply with quote  #32 

Here is how I import literature citations and link subordinate PDFs from Zotero into a Personal Brain (PB 5.5.2.4, Zotero 2.0.2, FF 3.6.8, WinXP)

(Preface) This is a great thread which is near and dear to my heart. I am a research scientist (pharma, genomics, biotech) and use the scientific literature and internet extensively.  I am also a hardcore PB and Zotero user and believe PB and Zotero are both the bomb.  In Zotero, I usually keep citations and PDF files to published articles.  I too have been wanting be able to use PB and my Zotero database together.  I do lots of research inside PB.  Like many in this thread, I ABSOLUTELY want and need to interface it with literature that I store in Zotero, especially for certain citations and projects.   Here is a work-flow that I discovered that works reasonably well for me (but suffers in that it requires too much foresight to set up the screen right etc.) .  This work-flow does not allow linking multiple references automatically and does not open Zotero or the citation in Zotero but goes directly to the PDF.

Work-flow to import literature citations and link subordinate PDFs from Zotero into a Personal Brain (v.5.5):

Open Zotero inside Firefox. Open Persona Brain.

I split screen with Zotero and PB each taking top or bottom half of screen (want access to both without obscuring the other).  This might work nice with a huge monitor or two monitors. 

Zotero: Select a reference to be exported to PB

Zotero: Right Click, Create Bibliography from Selected Item, Save to Clipboard, OK

Note: you may want to select a Bibliography format (before hitting OK above) that looks the way you want as a thought in PB.