Cornan
I noted previously (5.5 and 6.0 together) that there was a regression in 6.0 regarding opening brains with the command line.  At that time I thought it was related to running two versions of PB together, but in fact this feature no longer works correctly when a user attempts to open a 6.0 brain from the command line parameter if another 6.0 brain is already open.

Please fix this regression so that I can once again open an arbitrary number of brains from the command line.

I have been running a Windows Startup script for 2+ years now that opens two brains every time I log on to my computer.  Now I have to open (the 2nd and later) brains manually (due to the lack of selective synchronization I plan to break up one of my existing brains into two brains).

I have uploaded three Windows .CMD files, renamed to .TXT for uploading.  Both RunFirstBrain and RunSecondBrain will work correctly if no brains are already open, but neither will work if a brain is already open.

The file "output.log" was uploaded after RunBothBrains completed.

RunBothBrains never works in 6.0.

Testing done with PersonalBrain 6.0.5.1 on a Windows XP sp3 computer.
Moe
Hi Cornan, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I have confirmed this issue and passed it over to our developers for review.

Thanks,
Moe

Cornan
Not fixed in 6.0.5.4

Hopefully a fix will make it into the next release, as this affects:
  • Every time I reboot my computer
  • My monthly scheduled archive (which ran today, Nov. 1)
  • restoring PersonalBrain instances after runs of Norton Ghost
  • opening a second (or greater) brain from the Windows UI
In the first three cases my existing scripts and settings cause PersonalBrain to open the first brain, then close it and open the second one.

I don't know how many people run 2 or more brains, but for me this is a significant regression.

Cornan
Regression not fixed in 6.0.5.6 (FYI)
Cornan
Regression not fixed as of 6.0.5.9 / Windows XP sp3 (32-bit).