Gideon
I am new to personal brain, been using it for two months now and i think i have got a hang of it.

My question however is this. I want to use a thought as a template. Is there a way of copying a thought and pasting it to any thoughts without the pasted thought having links to the original copy?

thanks
Gideon
Thanks for the response bill

I just did a test and tried that but i still have the links associated with the original copy

e.g. you have the sequence A-B-C and A-D-E where A is the parent to both. I want B-C to be the template so I unlink A from B-C . then copy B-C and paste to notepad as described. now when i go to 'D' in the A-D-E sequence and paste I get the sequence D-B-C. Which is alright but when you drill down to C, C is linked to D-B-C and B-C. I dont want C to link to B-C. I hope this isnt too confusing.

The workaround i guess is to add a third child to B-C, say B-C-D and then delete D after the connections have been established
Gideon
Okay I think i get it. I just have to unlink from the template. that works...justs seems like a long winded process. Would have been easy to have just been able to copy the thought and paste where you wanted what's the purpose of keeping all the links to the original, that just gets confusing
Gideon
Okay, i am currently adopting my PB for david allen's GTD system. And I have adopted the natural planning method. My thought is called NPM. And the children that come off that are 1. Purpose 2.Mission 3. brainstorm 4.Organize 5.next action.

what i want to be able to do is use the above list as a template and add it as a child to any project I create.

The sequence comes when I have to copy and paste that template into many projects. By sequence i mean Parent going to child.