outstretchedarm
hey all,

I've been using PB on and off (more off than on) for the last two years; have maybe 2000 thoughts between two brains.

I recently had to do a project using MS Access 2000.  My clerk has built us a database and always complains how unintuitive Access is, but, as I have been learning it, I find it very logical, and can see myself getting good at it over time.  Also, it runs very well in the background, whereas PB, because of its graphics, is kind of a hog in the background...

ANYWAY my question is...I think one could build a PB styled database using access.  Not the GUI really, but in the same structure.  Thoughts --  Parents -- Children --Siblings etc.   The hard part would be to develop the Access database in such a way that a thought can be a thought and at the same time be a parent to another thought, not merely a category or something containing another thought.

Anybody care to give me a few pointers on how I would begin developing this?  Once I got started I'm sure I can run with it.  Also, I'll be happy to report back my results

- O

dyslucksia
You might find it easier to model such concepts in FileMaker, which is excellent at creating indexes on-the-fly.
PB 5.5.2.1 on Windows XP, J-1.6.0_17
Adathome
outstretchedarm wrote:
hey all,

ANYWAY my question is...I think one could build a PB styled database using access.  Not the GUI really, but in the same structure.  Thoughts --  Parents -- Children --Siblings etc.   The hard part would be to develop the Access database in such a way that a thought can be a thought and at the same time be a parent to another thought, not merely a category or something containing another thought.

Anybody care to give me a few pointers on how I would begin developing this?  Once I got started I'm sure I can run with it.  Also, I'll be happy to report back my results