metta
I am in the process of trying to restore a TB8 brain from a brain zip backup.

Once the restored brain is accessible (it is loading now), I plan to compare the older version of the brain with the current version.

If I decide I want to keep the earlier/older version as my primary database, I have a few questions:
> May I assume the current brain and the older brain both share the same GUID?
> If so, is it sufficient to simply sync the older brain and overwrite the current web brain?
> Is there another, better recommended strategy for returning to an early/older version of a brain?

Any help and feedback will be appreciated.

Thanks.
Quote
zenrain
Yes, they will share the same GUID, so make sure auto sync is turned off. If you decide to keep it, I would do one of the following:
1. Delete the webbrain (online portion) of the later brain. Turn off sync from the later version. Turn on sync from the restored/earlier version.

2. Assign the restored brainzip a new GUID immediately. If you decide to move forward, sync the new brain. there should now be two databases with the same name synchronized. I would change the name of the unrestored database to something like [name]-OLD and also change the theme so they are easy to tell apart. Then when comfortable, delete the newer one.

I would tend to favor the second as it’s more cautious. 😃
macOS 10.14.6
TheBrain 11.0.119
Quote
metta
Thanks so much, ZenRain. Really appreciate your prompt feedback and recommendations.

Your clarification confirms the various options I've been considering, and I always welcome the voice of your experience. Many thanks!

🙂
Quote
metta
Oh, and thanks for the tip about changing the theme! Great idea for keeping things sorted 'til I make my decision.

✅
Quote

Newsletter Signup  Newsletter        Visit TheBrain Blog   Blog       Follow us on Twitter   Twitter       Like Us on Facebook   Facebook         Watch Us on Youtube  YouTube       

TheBrain Mind Map & Mindmapping Software     Download TheBrain Mind Mapping Software