VgnFrnd
Hi. I have been using PersonalBrain since 2002. I have recently switched my primary workstations over to Linux using the PCLinuxOS distribution. I was excited to see that PersonalBrain is available on Linux, and I would like to install it. However, I am not sure how to proceed.

The reason I am cautious is because I have broken my installation before by installing software from outside an official repository. So, if anyone can give me some pointers about how best to install PersonalBrain on PCLinuxOS, I would appreciate any help or advice I can get.

For example, there is only one file in the download. Am I to understand that the installer can package the program correctly for any type of distribution format?

jostber
I think you can be pretty safe for this installation, it should not conflict with your OS if you install it as user. Some tips for installation on Suse 10.3 is here:

http://forums.thebrain.com/tool/post/thebrain/vpost?id=2414886

I use PB on Suse 10.2 and it works very nicely.

For a shortcut to a quick installation, open a terminal and enter this command:

wget http://www.thebrain.com/site/personalbrain/download/download.jsp?id=25&userID=399798 

and this:

sh  *4_1_3_5.sh

Then just follow the instructions for install.

TheBrain 8.0.2.2 Slackware 14.2 KDE 4.10.3 Java 1.8 / (Windows 7)
jengar
Hi,
I am using PCLINUXOS latest version and installed standard download Brain 4 with no problems. Once you have unzipped and installed you will see the Brain icon - PersonalBrain sitting here system:/home/PersonalBrain. Create a new "link to Application to this. Mine contains
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=PersonalBrain
Exec=/bin/sh "/home/copcutt/PersonalBrain/PersonalBrain"
Icon=/home/copcutt/PersonalBrain/.install4j/PersonalBrain.png
Categories=Application;

Running this will open up the new Brain window with your details. From there it is simply a matter of entering your registration details and a way you go.