Arnold
Hello, I searched this forum for an answer to this question, but i did not find it.
Hope somebody can help.
The case, I am a PhD student and installed the brain on the fasted USB stick I could find. Because I want to carry it with me all the time and use it on any pc.
In the brain I keep lots of PDF´s and word documents for my research.
I also do a lot of interviews, which I tape and store as MP3 files (They can be more than100 mb).  I had the idea to move all of these MP3´s into the brain.
It take however a long time for a MP3 (100 Mb) to move into the brain and
It also seems that the performance of the Brain is declining due to this.
Is this the way to go, or is it better for performance purposes to attache them and not to move them into the brain.
Thanks for your help.

Arnold

rzw7
Thanks Arnold for your question. I would add another concern to this topic - I there a higher risk of data loss in case files are moved into the brain and not only attached. What is the "safer" option, i.e. to move documents in or attache them only. I would appriciate the PB team or forum participants to share their views.
thanks in advance,
rzw7  
less is more
zenrain
Arnold, you may try opening the thought folder from the Properties and Attachments window, and then dragging the file in there. Hopefully that will speed things up.
I haven't seen any visible performance issues when files are internal vs. external, then again, I don't use it on a USB stick. You may create a separate folder on the USB stick, throw your files in there and import them to PB as links. Just some ideas.

rzw7, I used to keep all my files internal to PB. Now because I use Dropbox to sync two computers I only keep internal files that I need on both.