borger
I've been working with Personal Brain on and off for a few years now--no serious applications, but from time to time I create some new thoughts or add some new ideas.  Basically they run the gamut from topics on philosophy and history to science and mathematics.  Occasionally I have an interest in writing a paper or giving a talk on a topic that touches on one or more of these areas.  But even when it touches on a single area, I only want a small subset of the thoughts which may be associated with it.  Of course, PB is particularly handy in reminding me of connections moderately tangential to my main topic and I don't want to lose that capability.  But what I need to to is create a path--a sub-brain if you will--which highlights and organizes--outlines, really--the material that I want in my talk.  And the outline motif is important here since not only do I want to select a limited subset of data, but I also want to organize it in outline form so I can build my paper/talk.  I do have some outlining software (ActionOutline) but I'm reluctant to duplicate everything there.  I'm sure I would end up relying on only one of the two products in the end.  Has anyone ever dealt with this issue?

Dave

zenrain
I'm not sure what version you are currently using, but in 5.x and higher, if you aren't using the free version you can set the plex to Outline View (View > Outline). You can't set the default view for certain areas of your brain, or for specific brains, so whatever view you are using will carry over to the other brains.

With that in mind, there are several ways to do what you want.