DavidGretzschel

Although I've been using TB for almost two months I never really managed to make myself look at all the available functionality and all the commands at my disposal.
Take all the selection-commands, which I just happily discovered seem to be a tool I can use to make efficient gardening without mouse-use possible, something which I didn't know how to do at all before:
Cause the first thing I tried to do with it (mass deletion) was (and still is) broken.
And then it was extremely frustrating to explore the various commands, because none of the commands had preset shortcuts.
And the command-descriptions were vague and mysterious.
At the beginning I couldn't even get to the shortcuts-tab efficiently, because there was no ctrl+tab-support! (something my brain stumbled over many times again after the first time, since using ctrl+tab for a tabbed interface is a deeply ingrained instinctual behavior for me)
Then when I tried to assign a shortcut to a command, I'd inevitably find, that almost all the ones I tried the first three times, were already used by something else. I probably could have found something eventually or went and unset the blocking command, but my stamina has its limits.
Trying to test a new command means having various hypotheses about where the command can be used from, as well as what it could possibly do, as well as several confused theories how I would want it to work.
There’s only so much that can be held in working memory and trivial inconveniences add up quickly to overwhelm even the most ardently motivated beta-tester, and would certainly overwhelm someone like me even sooner.

And this might be difficult to emphasize with, because everything must be quite obvious if one has created the program and everything make perfect sense, so I’m stating it explicitly 🙂
Please mind the (inferential) gap!
https://wiki.lesswrong.com/wiki/Inferential_distance

Now at least some of the descriptions make a lot more sense.