media1mogul
I loooove that the notes are done in markdown now. I work with github issues everyday and github uses markdown and I've come to love using it.

I'm not an expert but I know that there are different flavors.I use ultraedit which supports markdown to edit markdown files, and I've played with some of the more fancy editors as well. Well - I tried to edit a TheBrain note file in ultraedit and noticed that it is not interpreting it correctly.  It was a table and I know that tables is an area where there are differences in the flavors of markdown.

I am not an expert in this area so I hope this isn't a dumb question, but here goes.  Is there a particular standard that TheBrain adheres to? If so can you let me know what it is?  I may then for larger files use an external editor for notes editing.

I know this may sound totally crazy as a developer seeing as you just spent all sorts of crazy dev-hours on implementing an inline wysiwyg editor.  Please don't misinterpret the question. I absolutely LOVE that we can take notes in markdown now.  

Thanks.
Mike
Memory on Paper
metta
@media1mogul ~

This is a very good question. ðŸ™‚

As I understand it, TheBrain team has created an "enhanced" version of Markdown that is unique to TheBrain. According to Harlan, more details will be coming about this customized Markdown coding.
DavidGretzschel

Must say that I don't think anything can be enhanced by making it more obscure. Would have been better to start with something vanilla one can look up and then add documented changes to it. I don't get how you can see at at the current, confusing state of Markdown-balkanisation and think.....
we need more of that.
We definitely need less of that. I use (or could theoretically use) Markdown in many contexts. Having multiple rulesets is bad.
Having secret rulesets is the worst.

Lenovo Legion Y720 | 32Gb Ram | i5-7300-HQ, 4 cores @2.5 Ghz | GTX 1060 | :{Windows 10 (latest build) |  SSD: Model SAMSUNG MZVLW256HEHP-000L2