JonnyB
I am a teacher/speaker/trainer and spend a lot of time reading, researching, preparing seminars, etc...  I am trying to find the best way of taking notes on books and articles.  Mind maps, flow notes (handwritten pictures and short text), Evernote and PB have all been used in order to capture main ideas for future reference. 

To quickly see the flow of a book or article, mind maps and flow notes seem to be the way to go.  For memorization of material, flow notes seems to be the best.  Evernote is great for quickly adding ideas and notes and then quickly finding it via search.  However, for interconnecting the various ideas with other ideas PB wins hands down. 

So I have been experimenting with doing research in flow form and then taking that material and putting it into PB.  However, this dual note-taking takes a lot of overhead time.  I have done this for a little while but am wondering if all the extra work really will pay off.

How do you use PB in research and taking notes?  Do you only use PB?  Or a combination of PB and other methods?  What has been your best practice?

Thank you!
zenrain
I try (try being the operative word here ) to use the tool most suited to the job.
When documenting thoughts, and paraphrasing notes on books or research I generally use PB. The reason being, I have chapters, sub-chapters and comments linked together. This works best for me rather than another document because I can interrelate comments on multiple chapters and identify themes easily. Conventional mindmapping tools generally get ugly when you start linking themes and thoughts across chapters and even books. For this I keep my notes in PB, because I want to be able to reference them quickly with my comments.

For thoughts for standalone subjects that require a fair amount of text I generally attach a link to a document. Generally I don't need to see the text immediately, so it doesn't matter as much.