deakus Show full post »
rgloor
I use Linux (openSUSE) on my HomeOffice Desktop Machine (openSUSE LEAP), my Main Machine / Notebook (openSUSE LEAP) and on my secondary Notebook (openSUSE TUMBLEWEED). I have been using PersonalBrain for many years and I feel bad, that it is coming to an end (on Linux, hence for me).

I have promoted it to several people, using different OS's. One of the reasons I was promoting. was the fact that it was a multi plattform application, given the user freedom and the control over their data, no matter how they switch OS's.
rgloor
MilkTea
What is strange is that most of applications start to roll out versions for linux. And that TheBrain stops rolling out on linux.  By "few using Linux", I suspect the expanded phrase "few PAYING customers using Linux".   It must be said : I pay for software.  Not the big bucks that professional people pay for WIndows crap, but an honest royaltie for decent useable software.
tz
I stopped using TheBrain when moving over to Linux a few years ago, but now I have a new use case for which I think TheBrain would be a perfect fit. Well, I think I got the Java version still somewhere here, will see if I can make it work on my KDE Neon distribution.
rgloor
MilkTea wrote:
What is strange is that most of applications start to roll out versions for linux. And that TheBrain stops rolling out on linux.

I feel in a similar way. Lately, Microsoft has annoyed many clients with their behavior. And Linux has made good progress on hardware support, graphics support and speed. More people indicate to me, that they are now seriously considering the move.
However, removing applications from linux portfolio doesn't help the move over.

MilkTea wrote:

By "few using Linux", I suspect the expanded phrase "few PAYING customers using Linux".   It must be said : I pay for software.  Not the big bucks that professional people pay for WIndows crap, but an honest royaltie for decent useable software.