plk

I'm new to TheBrain and am grappling with basic concepts. For instance, is it possible to derive a thought's notes from a template? I know it's possible to base attachments on templates. I'm creating a bunch of contact "thoughts" and they'll, of course, share common properties (name, address, etc). Probably there ways the program anticipates the need to do such things, but I lack the competence to discover them. I thought maybe I could define a thought "type" with certain properties (essentially data fields). I'm using the version 6 beta. Thanks for advice or comments.

zenrain
Create your Template thought, and set everything the way you want. 
When you wish to create a new thought from that template, activate it, right-click and choose Create Duplicate Child thought. Now you can shift-link it to the desired parent (holding down the shift button while linking a thought removes the current parent, and adds it to the new thought).
Windows 7
J-1.6.0_22
--
OSX 10.6.3
Java SE 6
plk

Thanks for the tip. One thing I'm still unclear about: can only attachments derive from templates and not a Thought's notes (the richtext control that displays within TheBrain)?

rhodes
zenrain is correct. Templates are only for attachments, such as a Word document containing a letterhead. If you wish to create a template of text (and images, etc.) stored in a Note, you must create a Duplicate Child thought (regard it as a Thought Template) whose Note contains this, store it somewhere out of the way in the same brain or even in another brain, then recall it and either:

1) copy the (template) Note out of it and paste it into the Note you are working on, or